baviaans municipality


The Baviaans Municipality covers an area of 11 668. 32 square kilometers with three urban nodes, namely Willowmore, Steytlerville and Rietbron.

Willowmore serves as the administrative hub of the area where the local municipality offices, the district offices of national government departments and provincial government departments are situated.

The area is thinly populated. (0–100 people per square km.) 

The local municipality is situated between 23 and 25 degree of longitude and 33 and 34 degree of southern latitude and is at 1000 to 1500 meters above sea-level. 

The well known Baviaanskloof Wilderness Area is situated to the south. The Mega-Reserve covers 90% of the local municipality area. 

Agriculture, tourism and service industries form the basis of the area’s economy. 

The Baviaans Municipality is a Category B municipality which, together with another 8 municipalities, forms the Sarah Baartman District Municipality.

On this website you can find out more about the councillors who represent you, the decisions they are taking on your behalf, and the projects which are shaping the future of the Baviaans Area.

The website also contains information such as Council's Annual Report, Policies and Budget. You can also download documents such as job application forms and Supplier database registration forms. 

Please follow the links on the left for more information.

Loading News...

baviaans municipality

website design, search engine optimisation by ZAWebs Designs ZA Webs Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
web hosting by ZAWebs Hosting ZA Web Hosting